Kid Lit Odds and Ends

Here and there we’ve collected odds and ends from the Kid Lit world that we find interesting. Here’s what this week brought us:

  • Make mischief and mayhem today! It’s Roald Dahl Day (aka Roald Dahl’s birthday)! He was one of the world’s best storytellers, so go to your library or local bookstore and pick up one of his books. Even better, read his stories aloud to the little ones in your life. We’re willing to bet they will be riveted and thoroughly entertained. On a related note, his grandson, Luke Kelly, just put out a picture book of his own, and Vogue interviewed him about it.
  • We discovered this self portrait by Eric Carle, accompanied by this Carle quote: “Ever since I was very young, as far back as I can remember, I have loved making pictures. I knew even as a child that, when I grew up, I would be an artist of some kind. The lovely feeling of my pencil touching paper, a crayon making a star shape in my sketchbook, or my brush dipping into bright and colorful paints — these things affect me as joyfully today as they did all those years ago.”
  • We already knew author/illustrator Oliver Jeffers was super cool based on his children’s books alone. Now we have another reason to like him–he has Duck Hunt ducks adorning his walls. Last week The Guardian posted a piece about interior design, and they featured Oliver Jeffers’ home in New York. Take a look at the piece; the Duck Hunt ducks aren’t the only cool things about his home/workspace.

What odds and ends have you discovered in the kid lit world this week? Let us know in the comments below.

Photo credit: Francis Marie Photography
